[seqfan] Re: Links to trottermath.net currently malicious

Andras andras at yahoo.com
Fri Mar 30 00:40:26 CEST 2018

 I think the best course of action would be to download the wayback archives and host them yourselves with a header explaining that the current website is infected and that it is an archived version with the links to the current removed - if you plainly link to the waybackmachine there is a good probability that someone end up on the live website and get themselves in trouble which would be a barrier to OEIS being popularized for school work.
    On Thursday, March 29, 2018, 8:02:09 AM EDT, Hugo Pfoertner <yae9911 at gmail.com> wrote:  
 Since Terry Trotter passed away in 2004,
http://www.guardiansofdarkness.com/GoD/trotter.html , it's anyway
astounding that his web site has survived for such a long time. Perhaps his
heirs have now given up maintaining the site. We all know that this is a
long-term problem somehow to be tackled by a general procedure for all OEIS
external links.

On Thu, Mar 29, 2018 at 1:40 PM, Hugo Pfoertner <yae9911 at gmail.com> wrote:

> I would guess that the site owner T. Trotter is no longer actively
> maintaining the pages. The latest sequence referring to Trotter's web pages
> is from the year 2011. We could therefore safely replace all original links
> by archived copies in the Wayback machine.
> I tried https://web.archive.org/web/20150120050207/http://
> trottermath.net/polygonal-numbers/ and it seems to be unaffected by any
> hacks.
> Best regards
> Hugo
> On Thu, Mar 29, 2018 at 1:20 PM, Neil Sloane <njasloane at gmail.com> wrote:
>> The Chrome browser will warn you if you try to go to any of those links.
>> These links all used to be valid, and there is a chance they will
>> be valid again when that web site has been rescued.
>> So should we delete those links, or maybe it would be better to add a
>> comment at the end of the link saying something like
>> [On March 29 2018 this site appears to have been hacked. Proceed with
>> great
>> caution.] ?
>> After all, our policy is not to delete broken links.
>> I am not sure - what do others think?
>> Best regards
>> Neil
>> Neil J. A. Sloane, President, OEIS Foundation.
>> 11 South Adelaide Avenue, Highland Park, NJ 08904, USA.
>> Also Visiting Scientist, Math. Dept., Rutgers University, Piscataway, NJ.
>> Phone: 732 828 6098; home page: http://NeilSloane.com
>> Email: njasloane at gmail.com
>> On Thu, Mar 29, 2018 at 5:29 AM, Joerg Arndt <arndt at jjj.de> wrote:
>> > All these links should be removed ASAP:
>> >
>> > The site has been hacked and contains all kind
>> > of malicious stuff.
>> >
>> >
>> > Best regards,  jj
>> >
>> > --
>> > Seqfan Mailing list - http://list.seqfan.eu/
>> >
>> --
>> Seqfan Mailing list - http://list.seqfan.eu/

Seqfan Mailing list - http://list.seqfan.eu/

More information about the SeqFan mailing list